Cancel a transaction

If you can’t complete a sale with a buyer—if, for example, the item is damaged, you have fewer items in stock than you thought, or the buyer purchased the item using the wrong shipping address—you can cancel the transaction.
 

If at all possible, try to avoid canceling a transaction because you don’t have the item to send—it’s considered a transaction defect and may affect your seller performance level. The buyer will still be able to leave you negative or neutral feedback about the transaction.

Cancel a transaction

You can cancel a transaction as long as:

  • You haven’t sent the item yet.
  • The buyer hasn’t asked us to step in and help because they didn’t receive the item.
  • You haven’t opened an unpaid item case.

You can cancel a transaction by selecting the button below. After you cancel, we’ll let the buyer know. If they’ve already paid, they’ll get a refund.

You can also cancel a transaction from My Dashboard > Orders; see the instructions below to find out how.

Tip
You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after a sale, even if your buyer has already paid.

What happens after you cancel a transaction

If you’re a managed payments seller, or if the buyer paid using PayPal, a full refund will be issued automatically. 

If the buyer used another payment method, they will be asked to confirm that they received their refund before the cancellation is complete.

Once the buyer has been refunded, you’ll receive a final refund credit. 

If you’d like, you can learn more about how refunds work.

Buyer-requested cancellations

If a buyer asks you to cancel an order, they’ll need to send you a cancellation request.

Once you receive their request, you’ll have 3 days to approve or decline it. If you approve it and the buyer has already paid for the item, you have 10 days to refund them. If you haven’t refunded them within 10 days, they can file a claim through the APX Money Back Guarantee.

When you refund a buyer after accepting their request to cancel a transaction, we’ll automatically relist your item for you. If you don’t want your item to be relisted, simply uncheck the Relist item after cancellation box when issuing the refund.

When a buyer cancels a transaction, they can’t leave negative or neutral feedback or low detailed seller ratings for you.

Getting a final value fee credit

To receive a final value fee credit, the cancellation must be completed.

If the buyer paid using credit or debit card, Apple Pay, Google Pay, or PayPal, the refund is complete when APX shows that their account is refunded. If they paid using any other method, the refund will be considered complete when they confirm they’ve received their money back.

We’ll credit the final value fee to your account 7 to 10 days after the cancellation request is complete. Learn more about final value fee credits.

If you’re a managed payments seller, we’ll usually refund your payments processing fees if you fully refund a buyer to resolve a refund, return, or cancellation request. 

Shipping discounts

Offering shipping discounts can encourage buyers to add more of your items to their purchase. You can automatically apply a discount to the shipping cost

Read More »

Cancel a transaction

If you can’t complete a sale with a buyer—if, for example, the item is damaged, you have fewer items in stock than you thought, or

Read More »
Was this article helpful for you?
 
Translate »
Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.
%d bloggers like this: