Closing your account and deleting your data
When closing your account with APX, you’ll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My APX. You’ll also lose your feedback as well as your purchase and sales history.
Exporting your personal data
Before requesting to delete your account and data, APX highly recommends EXPORTING your data prior.
You do so by doing the following:
- Login to your APX account and My APX Dashboard and access your Edit Profile button from the drop down menu in your Profile Bubble on the top right hand menu.
- Once in your profile Dashboard select the Settings cog under your banner.
- Export Data will be the fourth tab in. You can see all your data that will be requested. Scroll to the bottom and click on Request personal data export button to complete the process.
- Save file and you’re done.
Deleting store or account
We’re always sad to see people go, however we understand everyone has their reasons.
If you still want to close your account, make sure:
- All your fees are paid and your account balance is zero
- You’ve resolved any suspensions or restrictions
- You don’t have open bids on an item
- You don’t have any outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or in pending status if you’re a managed payments seller
Because we are still evolving, in order to close out your account; You must send an email to: [email protected]
In the heading include “Delete my Account” and in the body include your email, user name and password to confirm account ownership.
Accounts will be deleted withing a 24hr period upon request. Once account is deleted, prior data can not be retrieved nor can old data be imported. You must start a NEW account with a NEW email and user name. Prior user names and emails can not be reused within a 30 day period.
Personal data on closed accounts
The right to have your personal data (including personal information) deleted depends on privacy regulations which vary by country and region. For example, the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”) identifies the right to have your personal data deleted, also known as the “right to erasure,” subject to certain exceptions. At eBay, we extend this right to delete your data to all users regardless of a country or region’s regulation.
When you send a request to close your account, your personal data will also be deleted as long as your account is in good standing.
APX deletes personal data using approved methods such as encryption, pseudonymization, and aggregation. For your part, you’ll need to clear cache, cookies, and history from each browser you used to sign in to your APX account.
Unless you’ve reconsidered and would like to keep your account, and as long as your account is in good standing and none of the exceptions listed below apply, your account will be closed and your data will be deleted within 30–60 days of receiving your request.
Closing account and personal data deletion exceptions
We can’t close an account and/or delete associated data if:
- Your account has an outstanding balance
- You have pending transactions (i.e. open bids, pending payments, outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or pending status if you’re a managed payments seller)
- Data related to an account needs to be retained to detect, prevent, mitigate, or investigate fraudulent or illegal activities
- Data related to an account needs to be retained for a purpose required by applicable law
- There is a public health issue
- A subpoena or other court or legal order compelling APX to retain certain data is in place
If data can’t be deleted for any reason, it will be retained in accordance with our Privacy Notice.
Please contact us for help closing the account of a deceased APX member.